Fear me, for I am a Macaron Master!

December 27, 2012 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: ,

Look what I made!

20121227-125438.jpg

Nice shiny domes – check
Pretty, ruffled feet – check
Crisp outer shell – check
Soft, fluffy interior – check

But I do have a confession to make:

They are from a packet. An Adriano Zumbo
packet, but still a packet.

I figured if I bought a packet mix and made it exactly as instructed (ha!), maybe I’d get an idea of where I have been going wrong.

Fortunately, the AZ packet also has videos online to follow, and thus I produced these.

20121227-124656.jpg

I was reasonably sure that my main area of failure was my macronage, so flushed with the success of my packet macarons (pacarons?) I dove into making *real* ones. And it worked! Well, not quite as successfully as the pacarons, but certainly better than my previous attempts.

20121227-144429.jpg

These are green tea and lemon.
I’ve used Swiss Meringue Buttercream for the filling, and the best bit is they taste like Lemon Crisps, which are one of Tusk’s favorite biscuits and something he can’t have anymore, so that was a nice little payoff.

Of course, there are still things I want to improve…I thought I’d over mixed my macronage at one stage, but I actually under mixed it, so most of them ended up with nipples. BUT THEY HAD FEET! Which has been my big failure up ’til now. And I need to remember to use stronger colours. The light colours start to brown easily.

Meanwhile, nomnomnom.

Entry Filed under: Cooking

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alisa  |  December 27, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    When I grow up, I want to be you.
    Such scrumminess with the teaset too!

  • 2. kathrynlinge (@kathrynlinge)  |  December 28, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Such a pretty tea set! (To go with the pretty macarons)


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 654 other followers

