My Crazy Cupcake Adventure — Love and Romanpunk

February 2, 2013 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

20130202-231749.jpg

Thousands of years ago, Julia Agrippina wrote the true history of her family, the Caesars. The document was lost, or destroyed, almost immediately. (It included more monsters than you might think.)

Hundreds of years ago, Fanny and Mary ran away from London with a debauched poet and his sister. (If it was the poet you are thinking of, the story would have ended far more happily, and with fewer people having their throats bitten out.)

Sometime in the near future, a community will live in a replica Roman city built in the Australian bush. It’s a sight to behold. (Shame about the manticores.)

Further in the future, the last man who guards the secret history of the world will discover that the past has a way of coming around to bite you. (He didn’t even know she had a thing for pointy teeth.)

The world is in greater danger than you ever suspected. Women named Julia are stronger than they appear. Don’t let your little brother make out with silver-eyed blondes. Immortal heroes really don’t fancy teenage girls. When love dies, there’s still opera. Family is everything. Monsters are everywhere. Yes, you do have to wear the damned toga.

History is not what you think it is.

I know, I’ve been very remiss with posting these, but now that the Silly Season is over and work has settled down, there’s a fair chance of regaining some kind of regularity.

Anyway, the second of the Twelve Planets is Love and Romanpunk, by Tansy Rayner Roberts.

I cannot tell you how much I adored this book. If you haven’t read it, go, now. I think it’s sold out in print, but you can still get e-copies of it.

So, awesome, as I was saying. Also, purple, which is the most awesome colour in the world. So double awesome. Awesome squared? Lots of awesomeness anyway. Which must be celebrated with chocolate. I always knew these cakes were going to be a rich, dense chocolate cake, and I teemed them with a beautiful cream cheese strawberry mousse….well, I did at the launch, however, I have sadly started to develop a serious reaction to strawberries, which means, well, no more strawberries for me. On the other hand, RASPBERRIES! And it’s hard to think of that as anything other than an upgrade.

So, chocolate batter…

20130202-231546.jpg
again a gluten free recipe. This is quite a dense cake, almost fudge like.

Into the cupcake pans…

20130202-231557.jpg
I’m sorry, but there is just no good way to photograph dark chocolate cake batter without it looking…unappetising.

I had nearly finished filling all my pans when I remembered I meant to do some in mini pans because I used this recipe for a few of the launch cakes…

20130202-231607.jpg
So I only got a handful of minis. Stay tuned, you will see these in a later post.

Ha, I just discovered I didn’t take a picture of the fresh from the oven uncrossed cakes. Oh well, I’m sure you can imagine :)

So, the fun (and incredibly delicious) part – frosting.

Cream cheese and sugar

20130202-231649.jpg

Add the puréed raspberries

20130202-231709.jpg

COLOUR AWAY – add LOTS of food colouring. Now add some more…keep going. There, that should do it.

20130202-231717.jpg

Be sure to test liberally during this process, I know I did! :)

The decorations I placed on the frosting were of a white and dark chocolate cameo of a Roman Lady – I imagine her to be Julia.

So first I had to carefully paint in the white chocolate

20130202-231726.jpg

Then after sitting it in the freezer for a few minutes, I painted in the dark chocolate.

20130202-231738.jpg

Now, when we did the launch I had managed to premake all these at home so there was no rush, last night though, I could not seem to temper my chocolate to save myself, so these weren’t as smooth as I would have liked.

So, a dollop of cream cheese frosting, and pop the cameo on top and voila

20130202-231846.jpg
Love and Romanpunk Cupcakes

Previous episodes of My Crazy Cupcake Adventure:

  • Nightsiders
  • Salvage
  • The Background
  • Entry Filed under: conventions,My Crazy Cupcake Adventure

    2 Comments Add your own

    • 1. tansyrr  |  February 3, 2013 at 9:41 am

      Yummmm. My only regret is that I didn’t know these were MINE at the party until they were all eaten by people who were not me. Otherwise I would totally have guarded them like a vicious attack dog.

      I cherished the extra cameo you saved for me, though, right up to the moment when I ATED IT.

      (you should make vids of you making these cupcakes, sped up to appropriate songs)

    • 2. Twelfth Planet Press - Aw&hellip  |  March 3, 2013 at 4:43 pm

      […] I’d like to acknowledge the fantastic design work on all our books by Amanda Rainey and Terri Sellen’s cupcake production at Natcon 2012 (she’s been documenting the making of these over at her blog). […]


    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

    SweetTweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

    I’ve Said It Once…

    Past Ingredients

    Categories

    Meta

     
    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 719 other followers

