A couple of questions for the foodies on my flist…

November 2, 2009 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: ,

I love cooking, and I don’t mean just dinner steak-and-three-veg style cooking. I love baking and dinner parties and planning and prepping. (but not cleaning 🙂 ) The more complicated the better.

The thing is, I have realised I’ve lost my adventurous streak. This is partly because while I was working fulltime it was hard, but it’s also a carry over from a time of being so broke that I had to cook safe in order to not destroy the small amount of food we hand on hand.

Anyway, I want to change this 🙂

So, this week, I have been making yoghurt, and am going to give cheese a whirl (starting with ricotta today.) In the last couple of days I have been making frozen yoghurt and am going to do ice cream as well…but I don’t just want chocolate, vanilla and strawberry. I want new, and exciting and different.

So my question:

What are your favourite flavours to put in ice cream/gelato/frozen yoghurt?

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. capnoblivious  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:09 am

    For something interesting, K. has made a white-chocolate-and-lavender icecream. I really liked it, but some people think it tastes like a cleaning product. 🙂

    • 2. capnoblivious  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:46 am

      Oh, and in the same vein as angriest’s strawberry and basil – rose petal.

    • 3. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  November 3, 2009 at 3:56 am

      Oohh…Lavender flowers? or oil?

      • 4. capnoblivious  |  November 3, 2009 at 5:38 am

        For the rustic option, lavender flowers.
        For the less rustic option, an infusion of the flowers. K. says you need to mix the flowers with the sugar, to make lavender sugar, which you then use to make the icecream. (If you just use the straight infusion, it goes grey.)

  • 5. angriest  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:24 am

    In Hong Kong this year I had strawberry and basil flavoured gelato, which was an interesting experience.

    • 6. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  November 3, 2009 at 3:57 am

      Interesting would be a good word for it. ALthough, I guess I thought the same thing the first time I heard about strawberries in balsamic vinegar, and they win.

      • 7. angriest  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:09 am

        I’m straining to remember all four flavours that Sonia and I tried. I think one was lychee and ginger, which was quite interesting.

      • 8. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:23 am

        I’ve been told lychee and green tea is nice, and I have a couple of tins of lychees in the pantry that have been there forever, so I might have to use them and experiment.

      • 9. angriest  |  November 3, 2009 at 4:34 am

        I love the taste of lychee.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
