Oh, that’s right! I have an LJ.

March 9, 2010 Ka'ela Ja'el

I guess I have been neglecting it of late.

Let’s see, my last post was…oh, a meme, back at the beginning of December, and my last real post was in the beginning of November.

So, what have I been doing? Probably a great deal of nothing much, really. Since retiring, I’ve been enjoying being a SAHM. My wardrobe isn’t enjoying it so much as I have put on a fair few kilos. I really need to have a stern talk to them and tell them they aren’t welcome to stay and that they should pack their bags and leave – the sooner the better, please.

I’ve been indulging my newest hobby – Cake decorating. Over the years there have been a number of times where I’ve wanted to give cake decorating a go, and a couple of times I’ve even kind of tried it. But the thing with me and hobbies is, well, I have a short attention span 🙂 I go all out on a hobby – buy all the bits and pieces and spend $$$$$$$$ and then never do anything with it. So for a few months now, I have been resisting the urge to indulge my latest whim. Until I couldn’t fight it anymore and I succumbed.

Yesterday,   told me I am supposed to be blogging these adventures in the kitchen – if for no other reason than I can see my improvement over time. Since I am learning by trial and error, and seeing what info I can pick up on line, it could be a very interesting journey.

So consider yourself warned! This blog may be about to get very boring if you aren’t into artsy food. Although, I’m not sure if it is possible to be more boring than the occasional meme and a lot of whinging. Of course, on the other hand, I could be over this in a month or two and we can go back to regularly scheduled memes and whinges.

My first real attempt saw the light of day on the weekend. I was hosting the Swancon 2011 meeting, so I decided to give cupcakes a whirl. For decorating purposes, I like cupcakes because you can try all different styles while you’re practicing – some will work, and well, some won’t. Now, I didn’t take any pictures, but   did. You can see them here. 

Apart from the Swancon/Natcon logos, I played with some very generic icing techniques – shells, stars, swirls – that sort of thing. It was also a chance to play around with different icings and textures and see what works best for each technique.

This was also my first attempt ever at making gluten free anything, and I made cupcakes and pizza. I was really happy with the cupcakes, in fact, I think I liked them better than the normal ones. And the pizza wasn’t too bad, either.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
