With shades of Rumplestiltskin

March 10, 2010 Ka'ela Ja'el

Today’s adventure in the kitchen consisted of carrot cake. Carrot is a root vegetable so therefore this is healthy and counts towards my 5 serves of veg for the day.

Of course, the only reason to eat carrot cake is CREAM CHEESE FROSTING! Amiright? I think I just might be. In fact it was the frosting alone that converted me to eating carrot cake initially.

I’ve never made carrot cake, I tend to be rather fond of the carton version my friend Sara makes 🙂 and the thing is, I am not a fan of walnuts, which so many recipes called for, so I decided to substitute pecans instead, and this seems to have worked.

Then I ate made the frosting. My idea was to experiment with different nozzles and see what the various large ones did, as I tend to use the very small nozzles. So again, I practiced shells, and rosettes and stars mainly, but with quite a few swirls in there as well.

Once they were done and setting I got my princess on and tried my hand at spinning hay into gold sugar into strands. I’ve made loads of toffee before, but I’ve never spun sugar, so it was an experience. It took me two tries. The first looked pretty enough, but had quite a burnt flavour…which I may have been able to overlook, but in my infinite wisdom I did it all on waxed paper. Um…not such a bright idea. Very hard to separate the paper from the fine strands. The second go went straight onto my bench top. I don’t think I would recommend this for everyone, but my bench top is very smooth tile so I figured it could take the heat and not stick. I also gave the bench a light spray with cooking spray and the strands just slid straight off.

Well, the finished result looks quite fancy-shmancy, and doesn’t taste too bad either.

carrotall

The complete package

carrot5

carrot6

carrot4

carrot3

Angel hair carrot cake (Note: this looks impressive for a start, and while it’s cold, and then it does the whole fairy floss thing and collapse.)

carrot2

It’s a beetle 🙂

carrot1

Well, kinda sorta a heart, if you squint and turn your head.

So, spinning sugar is fun, not too hard once you figure it out and gives a pretty effect – I shall definitely be trying it again.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kathrynlinge  |  March 10, 2010 at 5:52 am

    Cool!

  • 2. baby_elvis  |  March 10, 2010 at 6:18 am

    Yummy!

  • 3. editormum  |  March 10, 2010 at 7:03 am

    I never knew you could do that with sugar! Pretty 🙂 Beats the pants off my straight from the can frosting (the kids love it and it’s EASY)!! 🙂

    • 4. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  March 10, 2010 at 7:22 am

      Seriously easy to do. The trick is, like toffee, just watch for the burn point. Then you get to be all messy. 🙂 All you use is sugar, a heavy pan and med heat.
      I had a look at some techniques on youtube and there are people who do it as artwork and it is amazing!

  • 5. mynxii  |  March 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Awesome!! They look so neat!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
