What I’ve been doing lately…

March 15, 2010 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

Not much in actual fact 🙂

Lots of cooking and playing with new recipes. Making lots of yoghurt which I seem to have streamlined and perfected. Also discovered a divine vege salad in a magazine that I stole from the fish and chip shop.

I’ve also been seriously looking in to home schooling for Munchkin, and today I took the first official steps towards this.

Yesterday, the gorgeous   dropped in for a couple of hours for a good chat and catch up. We got to hang for a several hours while our boys hid away and played xbox in the toy area, and we got to watch our baby girls do craft and play Bratz dolls. I also got lots of baby cuddles. 🙂

This afternoon I decided to try my hand at fondant.

After a hiccup or two with the cupcake making, (which actually resulted in a win!) I got to the fondant.

I’m not sure what I think of these. For a start, when you don’t know what you’re doing, it can take ages! and it can be sticky and messy. And I couldn’t always get the fondant to do what I wanted. The pink and blue cake down the bottom was supposed to have a bow on top of it. The theory for doing the bow is easy, but it just kept drying and breaking which I found really frustrating. Anyway, I’ll try it again, but I think I need to read up on it some more.

 

 

fondant

fondant rocket

Since I’m totally making this up as I go along, I had no idea how to make the fondant stick to the cake, so I decided to use jam, which seems to have worked well. 

Anyway, overall I’m reasonably happy wit the result. And it has given me some feel for how fondant feels and acts.

 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. monissaw  |  March 16, 2010 at 12:37 am

    Are those top 3 space themed? I thought while the photo was loading that they looked like solar system cakes, and then the little space ship popped up.
    The ribbon one looks cool without the bow 🙂

    • 2. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:12 am

      Well they started off as dots but half way through it did occur to me that with a little planning and forethought I could probably make a solar system 🙂


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
