About this retirement thing…

March 19, 2010 Ka'ela Ja'el

It was working really well, but if I stay retired there are some things I am going to have to do without…like Worldcon. Worldcon itself isn’t a problem, and even the big family holiday we are having after that isn’t the issue.

No, the problem is, the exact same weekend of Worldcon we have our District Convention in Perth. As a Witness, this is the biggest event we have. It’s a 3 day annual convention with about 10,000 people. And it’s awesome. It’s also, for me, a not negotiable thing. So when we got the dates this year, I was all angsty with the clash of dates.

We looked at all the alternatives we could think of, and it seems like we have worked out a compromise of sorts. Tusk and I are going to go to the DC in Sydney in August. And this will be our 20th anniversary getaway 🙂 Then I’ll go to Worldcon sans family while they attend the Perth DC, before joining me in Melbourne to kick off our big adventure.

So now I have to go and pay for it 🙂 I’ve landed a job at Woolworths Petrol doing 2 nights a week, which suits me just fine. And then, yesterday, I get a phone call about a position I applied for with City of Perth assisting with events and sponsorship. (OMG!OMG!) They want me to interview on Monday.

Which brings me to a story…

Several years ago, I applied for a job at Kmart. The next week, I got offered the management position at Artype.

The next time I tried for a supermarket job was Coles. The next week I got a phone call offering me the position at the Minister’s office.

I’m kind of hoping this is a pattern 🙂

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gillpolack  |  March 19, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    That’s so cool. Both the job and sorting out how to have a slice of cake and eat just a bit as well.
    it’s so tough when these things collide. I once did a Pasover seder in someone’s room because I had to be at the Con. My mother has since forgiven me…

  • 2. lyzbeth  |  March 20, 2010 at 12:05 am

    Yay for jobs! Good luck! 🙂

  • 3. mynxii  |  March 20, 2010 at 1:51 am

    Hoping it’s a trend too! Didn’t quite manage to call Jodie in time with being sick, but am hopeful for other things coming up.

    • 4. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  March 20, 2010 at 10:20 am

      Oh that’s a shame… I thought it would have been perfectly located for you.

      • 5. mynxii  |  March 20, 2010 at 10:35 am

        It would have been – alas I wasn’t quick enough. Thank you so much for thinking of me though, I really appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
