Vanilla Slice

November 11, 2011 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

I’ve been meaning to post this for quite a while, but with one thing and another I kept forgetting. As gross as I think it is, I make a vanilla slice that everyone seems to love. Now, as a general rule, I’m not overly precious about my recipes, and I was asked for it again, so it prompted me to post it here 🙂

INGREDIENTS

Filling

  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¾ cup cornflour
  • ½ cup custard powder (If you want to get Brand specific, I prefer Nurse’s)
  • 1 litre milk
  • 60gm butter
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla essence

Shell

  • 2 sheets puff pastry

Icing

  • 1 small tin passionfruit
  • 1 small bag icing sugar

METHOD

Shell

  1. Cook pastry in a very hot oven until puffy.
  2. Flatten with hand.
  3. Place one sheet in tray. (I use the alfoil BBQ trays that you can buy in a 3 pack.)

Filling

  1. Combine sugar, cornflour and custard powder in a heavy based saucepan.
  2. Mix well to combine.
  3. Blend with a little milk until smooth.
  4. Stir in remaining milk.
  5. Add butter.
  6. Stir mixture constantly over heat until custard boils and thickens.
  7. Reduce heat.
  8. Simmer for 3 minutes.
  9. Stir in vanilla essence, then quickly stir in the beaten egg yolks.
  10. Pour hot custard over pastry.
  11. Place 2nd sheet of pastry over custard.

Icing

  1. Mix bag icing with tin of passionfruit. Mix well so there are no lumps.
  2. Spread over top layer of pastry.
  3. Refrigerate.

Notes:

I tend to double or even triple the filling mix so that my slice is about 5cm or more thick. Personally, I think this is why everyone loves it, but if you are going to make it thick like that, you also need to add some more cornflour so that it is a lot firmer.

Entry Filed under: Cooking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
