Back to the salt mines for me…

November 14, 2011 Ka'ela Ja'el

I liked this being retired thing, the not working, the sleeping in until 10am, the pottering around, watching TV, reading, hanging out on Twitter. It was awesome. I highly recommend it people – if you get the chance, retire!

And it was working so well!  Until two of my three children spread their wings and flew. I *thought* I was ready for them to move out, I really did, but it turns out I *really* wasn’t. I empty nested in a big way. It doesn’t help that it was the two noisy ones that moved out – the Munchkin remains, and he is as quiet as ever, happy to entertain himself.

The empty nesting brought a strong element of restlessness, and maybe part of that is that my workload at home has been cut considerably – way less washing when you remove two young adults from a house, less cooking, pretty much less everything, really. I didn’t really want to go back to work, at least, not full time, and not to a high pressure job, and I didn’t want to go and work nights again at the job-that-served-a-purpose.

Then, in one of those little quirks, an advert popped up on Facebook that a chain store was looking for casuals over the Christmas period, so on the spur of the moment I flicked my resume off to them. Actually, not my resume, but my professional CV. I didn’t tailor it at all, I just attached my latest and hit reply.

It must have been suitable, because a couple of days later I received an email inviting me to a group interview, and several days later I get this phone call:

Them: So, you know how you applied for a Christmas casual position? We think you are awesome and we’d like to offer you an ongoing position.

Me:

Them: In homewares. With kitchen goodies!

Me: Ooohhh…shiny!…and dangerous.

Them: Or you could work in ladies shoes…

Me: ***faints***

Them: Well?

Me: Um…home wares might be safer for my wallet.

Them: Wonderful! 

Then, I thought that through…Homewares is on the second floor, I have to walk *PAST* Ladies Footwear to get to it…

Oops.

Anyway, I had my store induction today, and got slated for a couple of shifts on Friday and Saturday, and when I got home, they rung me to see if I could work tomorrow.

And so it begins again…

 

Entry Filed under: Work

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. stephbg  |  November 14, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    *swoon* Someone in homewares who actually has a clue! That could be dangerous for a lot of customers 🙂 I hope you have fun.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
