Food Sensitivities

November 28, 2011 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags:

I’ve been coming to the conclusion that I have developed a sensitivity to fresh strawberries and pineapples, but I keep forgetting to test my theory in a controlled way.

Take today – today I feel like I’ve swallowed a cactus. My mouth has felt prickly all day, and while it’s eased off somewhat, my tongue still feels thick and my throat is tender. I had a few strawberries yesterday, and last night my mouth felt all ulcerated. The thing is, I also ate quite a bit of home made honeycomb, (and a massive amount of sugar) and that is quite sharp, so I couldn’t definitively say that I didn’t have numerous micro cuts in my mouth. And it seems that this always happen – when I have strawberries or pineapple I always seem to have had something else that could have caused the issue, like maybe I’ve spent all afternoon eating Doritos. But I love strawberries, and I always forget that they have this effect. I was going to take an antihistamine – if the discomfit went away, it would give me a pretty definitive answer, but I only had Polaramine which would knock me out for 12 hours and keep me groggy for a further 12, and, well, I had to work, so I didn’t. Must get some Telfast to keep on hand. 

The thing is, it’s only reasonably recent too – maybe the last year or so that it’s started happening…maybe it was a turning forty thing. 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
