Adventures in caking…

December 10, 2011 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

I caked and baked in the last few days.

This:

You may recognise some familiar items from this post. After making them, I was hit by inspiration to make a packing box, complete with packing foam peanuts (mini marshmallows), to take to my friend Tehani’s “Going Away Do”.

The cake was a VERY RICH and dense 4 layer chocolate cake, complete with strawberry mousse filling, and LASHINGS of ganache. (I actually ladled the ganache over the cake.) I  managed to outchocolate even the most die-hard chocaholics that were present. And the strawberry mousse filling – Oh. My. Goodness! Yum. Fresh strawberries and cream cheese and…and…and…nomnom) Oh and yeah, my previous post about strawberry sensitivity…I think I can say it’s confirmed. :/

And these:

These are all Tansy’s fault. She had to show me steampunk cakes last week. So OF COURSE I had to try making some. I was really pleased with how these turned out.

Note the ones with the letters? Well, I was aiming for old fashioned typewriter keys, and I did TW for Tehani’s initials, since I was going to take these to the do as well, and then I was going to do FC for FableCroft Publishing, which is her company, but I didn’t end up with the C, and that didn’t bother me too much. However, what that did give me was this:

WTF?

And so I leave you with a pic of Tehani cutting the cake. It was a lovely day, although I did catch a bit too much sun I think. I’m starting to look decidedly pink.

Entry Filed under: Cooking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
