REVIEW: Dark Space by Marianne de Pierres

February 28, 2012 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , , ,

I hate trilogies, I really do. In fact I hate series. That’s a lie, actually. I don’t hate series at all. In fact I generally love them. What I hate is finishing one book and wanting to dive into the next one immediately, only to have to wait. So, clever clogs me waited this one out. The whole series is available, and I have two books already, so I could comfortably start.

Except, I hit two hiccups.

  1. I thought the next book I had was book two, but it turns out it’s actually BOOK FOUR!
  2. The point is moot anyway, because I CAN’T FIND IT!

Now, I have to go book hunting.

Title: Dark Space

Series: Sentients of Orion (Book 1 of 4)

Author: Marianne de Pierres

Publisher: Orbit

Year Published: 2007

I love a good space opera, and this pushed nearly all the right buttons for me.  There were a few things I wanted to see in more of, but I actually get the impression they are going to be addressed in the next book.

In a far future where worlds across the galaxy have been settled, there is still discrimination and injustice. The discovery of a god-like being has a bearing on some, but for others, life goes on.

A young woman fights to keep her birthright, an heir disgraces his name, an ambitious architect will stop at nothing to attain greatness. And when the playing field of life is rocked, each person must examine themselves, and their motivations to find what kind of person they truly are, and what is important to them.

The story jumps around a little, mainly following four protagonists, but this serves to give a good overview of the situation.

The characters are real and solid. No one seems to be truly evil, or truly good, rather each person has many layers, giving them a genuine depth. And, like real life, relationships between the characters don’t always go the way one would expect.

So, the verdict: I loved it. I have to go and hunt the second book out TODAY.

Entry Filed under: AWWC,Reviews

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elizabeth Lhuede  |  February 28, 2012 at 10:05 am

    I relate! I used to be a great fan of fantasy until I struck that very problem, waiting forever till the next book (and then forgetting what I’d read). But I’ve just won Books 1 & 2 of a new series, so I’m sure to be hooked again.

    Dark Space sounds like an interesting read. Thanks for the review, and your participation in the AWW2012 challenge!

  • 2. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out  |  February 28, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    I haven’t read this by Marianne though I have read her YA fantasy series. Thanks for sharing your review!

    • 3. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  February 28, 2012 at 9:44 pm

      I’ve only read “Glitter Rose” which I adored, but I’m going to have to look out her other books now.

  • 4. New Review for Dark Space&hellip  |  February 28, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    […] Space has been reviewed over at Musings of a Hobbyist where you can read the review in full. Here is an […]

  • 5. Alex  |  February 29, 2012 at 3:41 pm

    Whatserface, the Latina woman, reeeallly annoyed me periodically throughout the entirety of the series – and then she’d come awesome again. de Pierres is very clever in creating a set of characters who largely made me cranky but also made me want to keep reading!

  • 6. Sean the Bookonaut  |  February 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    This is on my list to read along with Angel Arias. My AWW reading has largely slowed due to work and a bug review pile. I had started Dark Space and it was shaping up to be very interesting.

  • 7. Lizabelle  |  February 29, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    I’ve been looking for a place to start with Marianne de Pierres, and this book looks like it might be it. I will make sure I have the second available and ready when I start, though. 🙂 Thanks for your review!

  • 8. VeganYANerds  |  March 14, 2012 at 8:42 am

    I hope you find the next book so that you can continue on with the series! Like you, I don’t mind waiting until a series is published so that I can read them one after the other

  • 9. Transcendancing (@transcendancing)  |  March 14, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    I’ve been a fan of Marianne’s books for ages and I’m so glad you enjoyed this! I found the book complex to follow with the four protagonists, but as you say it gives you the overview – and when you’re talking about a view that needs to encompass the broader universe and all it’s myriad societies and issues… there’s a lot to cover. I think Marianne used that aspect to brilliant effect.

  • 10. 2012 AWW Challenge Young &hellip  |  January 9, 2013 at 9:10 pm

    […] dark and mysterious” and commends Marianne’s world building. Also reviewed, by Terri Sellen, was the space opera Dark Space, the first book in de Pierres’ Sentients of Orion […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
