On work…

March 16, 2012 Ka'ela Ja'el

I’ve been in my new job since late November. (Wow, over 3 months…time flies) It’s an interesting enough job and I quite enjoy it. And the women I work with are highly intelligent and lovely. And I am somewhat surprised at the amount of knowledge and experience there – we have a podiatrist, a long term kindy teacher, a public sector HR manager, an artist who does commissioned work, an electrical engineer etc. etc. These women have done *everything*. Most of them are awesome.

And then yesterday at work, I got offered a full time permanent position.

It really surprised me. Like I said, I’ve only been there since late November, and so I’m one of the newest recruits. (I think there’s one person who started after me.) No one has been offered permanency since I’ve been there. And I know that there are some people there who would love it. People who have been there a year or two in some instances.

And the thing is, I don’t want it.

There’s a couple of reasons:

  1. I don’t see this job as a permanent one. It suits it’s purpose (ie: providing me with an income) but I can’t see myself being there overly long term.
  2. Full time would kill me.
  3. And then there’s the commute on top of the hours. Add those two together and I would never see my family.

Now, if they come at me with a part time offer, that might be a different issue. There’s something to be said for having a regular roster, so I can kind of get a life happening, but the casual loading rate suits me fine…this is a supplemental income, so fortunately I don’t need to stress over holiday/sick pay.

Entry Filed under: Work

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
