My Crazy Cupcake Adventure

June 13, 2012 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

This is one of those “It seemed like a good idea at the time” stories.

The Crazy Cupcake Adventure really began several weeks before Continuum 8, when Alisa and I were discussing what to do for the Twelfth Planet Press hour. In a moment of (insert adjective here)ness, I suggested themed cupcakes.

It was always going to be easier to make the cakes at home and transport them over frozen and unfrosted.

The challenge was going to be in decorating 300 cupcakes in a hotel room.

The tools I took:

20120613-121547.jpg

20120613-121746.jpg

The tools I didn’t take:
EVERYTHING ELSE!

There were items I had packed, but when we reached the airport we discovered we were significantly overweight and had to do some quick and judicious culling, so in Melbourne I had to Make Do.

And of course, one of the tools I couldn’t take on the plane was my blowtorch. Fortunately Alex had recently acquired one so I was able to borrow that for some extreme cake decorating.

The day started at 7:30 when I went in search of Coles, which was hidden deep underground with no signage. So I, um, may have gotten a little lost. I procured most of my ingredients and Alisa later did a second foraging expedition to get the final ingredients, and some painkillers to knock a blossoming migraine on the head.

On top of operating with one solitary bowl, I had to find ways to soften butter and cream cheese to a temperature that wasn’t akin to a snowball on Mount Everest. I solved this by having the ingredients in my bowl and warming the bottom I the container with the hair dryer that the hotel supplied. it worked a treat! Except when I blasted the air into the bowl and ended up snorting a face full of icing sugar dust. I was tired and migrainey, okay!

Eleven and a half hours after starting, with ten minutes to spare, I finished. A quick shower and dress and I was able to swan into the party which was in full swing.

Nine minutes past seven I walked in and over half the cupcakes were gone! This is (one of) the reasons we don’t have many photos. And it is an awesome reason to not have many photos! 🙂

Entry Filed under: conventions,Cooking,Work

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kaaronwarren  |  June 13, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    You are so resourceful! More details! I want more!

    • 2. Ka'ela Ja'el  |  June 14, 2012 at 8:09 am

      Ha! Sadist! 😛
      There were the cupcakes that got left at home – I had a very carefully planned decoration for them that included handmade chocolates. And Coles didn’t have any plain uniced cupcakes, so Alisa got me some shortbreads which ended up looking quite good.
      And I made jelly for the Trifle cupcakes first thing, which was when I first realized just how challenging it was going to be. I had to set the jelly in the coffee cups, but I had to make sure one stayed free so I could have a cuppa 🙂
      Of course, I ate pretty much nothing but frosting all day, and finished it off with three glasses of champagne! Whee!

      • 3. kaaronwarren  |  June 14, 2012 at 4:14 pm

        Jelly in the coffee cups! I wish someone had made a doco of this, I really do!

  • 4. The Great NatCon Blog Pos&hellip  |  June 18, 2012 at 5:55 am

    […] Tehani Do?) to describe her method of how to sell Twelfth Planet Press books…  and then goes into even more detail about the creation of those cupcakes (the photo on the left, c/o Cat Sparks, is too good not to […]

  • 5. Seaside cupcakes for Salv&hellip  |  June 18, 2012 at 7:37 am

    […] Press, at Continuum earlier in June, and as part of the celebration, Terri took it upon herself to make cupcakes for certain of the press’s titles: I think 13 all up. Terri lives in Perth. The convention […]

  • 6. My Crazy Cupcake Adventur&hellip  |  February 2, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    […] The Background […]


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
