A Trifle Treat

July 31, 2012 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

In case you don’t know this, I’m not one to walk away from a cooking challenge, so when Deadlines, the new imprint from Twelfth Planet Press, announces a Trifle Competition, to celebrate the release of A Trifle Dead by Livia Day,  well, I had to give it a go.

Now, in the interest of full disclosure, I do some work from Twelfth Planet, so  I won’t actually be submitting my recipe, as I don’t want to cause any issues for Alisa.

(ETA: I just realised how that sounds. It’s not that there’s an expectation that I will win, rather, since allegations of impropriety have been levelled at both Alisa and myself in regards to awards and competitions, I figure it’s better to remove myself and not leave either of us open to those types of allegations.)

My trifle starts with a raspberry jelly with a wild hibiscus flower set, not in a shot glass, but a long stemmed liqueur glass.

It’s then topped with a delicious vanilla custard. Now, I don’t say delicious lightly, as I’m not generally a custard person but I kept finding  excuses to test this custard, and then I had to fight The Boy for the leftovers.

After letting the custard set I placed a circle of Delicious Death chocolate cake in the glass. Then I placed a ring of chocolate cake on top of that to make a well, which I filled with a raspberry coulis.

Not being a huge fan of cream on its own, the glass was then filled with a cherry brandy syllabub that I had let separate, and topped off with a maraschino cherry.

And let me just say YUM. I don’t do trifle. I have never yet met a trifle I like. Until now. I will be making this again, and chances are I will probably partake of it.

Also, totally gluten free.

Entry Filed under: Cooking,Fandom

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
