How to make a dinosaur

December 5, 2012 Ka'ela Ja'el
Tags: , ,

I work in the homewares department of a large department store, and this keeps my kitchengeek self well supplied with toys.

So when I saw this:

IMG_0383.JPG (2)

Now, generally I am not a fan of these jigsaw pans but I immediately knew *EXACTLY* what I wanted to do with it. And then it went on clearance and I paid like three dollars for it. Of course, that was months ago, and it’s been sitting in my cupboard ever since, because, well, time it is lacking.

I actually have a list of cakes I want to make, and most of them end up getting made for a reason, but this one keeps getting pushed down the list because it’s perceivably a Kids Cake, and they’re a bit short on the ground around my place. (This is not Bad Thing)

Anyway, yesterday’s plans fell apart, so I seized the moment and decided to do some justcoz cooking.

I also had a new gluten free cake recipe I wanted to try, so, you know, two birds etc…

So, ingredients:

20121205-083512.jpg

 

Mixing:

20121205-083523.jpg

 

Uhoh:

20121205-083612.jpg

The knee bone’s connected to the thigh bone:

20121205-083634.jpg

That looks better 🙂

Also, the trimmings – look how soft and fluffy for  gf cake. *nomnom*

20121205-083541.jpg

TADA!:

IMG_0382.JPG (2)

 

I was really pleased with how this turned out. Although I had some problems with the skeleton itself, so I used the elephant sculpting method* which seems to have worked.

*”A fool-proof method for sculpting an elephant: first, get a huge block of marble; then you chip away everything that doesn’t look like an elephant. ~Author Unknown

Entry Filed under: Cooking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

SweetTweet

I’ve Said It Once…

Past Ingredients

Categories

Meta

 
